Three new town deals worth over £80m for region

Three towns in the North East region are among 30 throughout England to get a share of £725m in the latest tranche of grants from the government’s Towns Fund.

The funding will boost local economies, create jobs and help the towns build back better from the pandemic, according to the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG).

Bishop Auckland is to receive £33.2m under its new towns deal and Hartlepool and Redcar are to get £25m each.

All three are in ‘red wall’ parliamentary constituencies, formerly held by Labour, which have recently elected Conservative MPs and all are either in or close to Tees Valley, which agreed a devolution deal in 2016 and re-elected a Tory mayor last month. There are no new grants for towns in more northerly parts of the region.

You can read the MHCLG press release here.